Hello.

Welcome to Intractable Hope.

This is a blog for the sharing of whatever comes to mind. At the moment, what comes to my mind is the title of my blog. I just started this blog, and the part the took the longest was naming it. I finally settled on “Intractable Hope” after running through just about everything else I could think of.

You see, this blog is, and is about, my thoughts, but it will often be about physical and mental illness, as those are the most common topics in my mind. I wanted the name of my blog to reflect that. My first thought was of Romans 5:5 “and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” (ESV). This is a verse I very recently read, but it has immediately become one of my favourites. A hope that cannot and will not fail me is a truth I need to hold onto everyday, when it feels like every other hope in my life is foolish and false.

Working off that verse, I considered a number of names, before I stuck on the word “intractable”. Intractable means “1: not easily governed, managed, or directed <intractable problems> 2: not easily manipulated or shaped <intractable metal> 3: not easily relieved or cured <intractable pain>”, which is an unfortunate descriptor of my health problems. Not governed, not manipulated, and not relieved.

Choosing to pair “intractable” with “hope” reclaims the state I live in. It is not a tragedy, or a catastrophe to be intractable, not when it is referencing the truth of the gospel and the promise of Christ. It makes something awful into something amazing, and reminds me of all the blessings of God.

I have hope, and it will not put me to shame.

Leave a Reply

