So I’ve been blogging for less than a week, and I’ve already missed a day, and nearly missed today as well. Sounds pretty typical in my life right now. I do at least have a good reason, unlike many other times I have neglected my duties.

The story is: I was sick. I felt super nauseated Thursday night, and eventually threw up at 2 o’clock Friday morning. To add to the fun, that triggered a migraine that kept me out of class on Friday, and then I developed a fever after doing nothing all day but sleeping. By the end of the day, I was pretty much better, but too worn out to do anything  but sleep some more.

As a result, I have actually slept enough over the weekend to make up for all the sleep I don’t get during the week. So, I was thinking I could use this blog post to talk about the awesomeness of other people. Personally, I watched/read sad and horrible news stories, and watched “try not to cry” challenges on YouTube, and was sick, as I mentioned. Other people this weekend though, they were amazing.

First of all, my suite-mate Audrey saw me on Friday morning right after I threw up. She was busy finishing up work and going to bed, but when I told her that I had just been sick, she went right down to Quick-zone (the dorm convenience store) and bought me 2 bottles of ginger ale, a bottle of Pepsi, and a box of saltine cracker, all with her own meal-plan. She went well beyond the necessary to help me out.

My roommate Swapna did the same. She asked me what I needed, and declined my meal-plan when I offered it, instead using her own to buy me the Gatorade I asked for. She also was quiet the entire time she was in the room, and she kept the main light in the room out all day too. She made it easy for my to sleep off the migraine and the fever, and helped me get better.

Every single one of us in the suite went random on the roommate assignment, and I cannot imagine that there was a single person that got luckier on roommates than me. This whole year, these girls have had my back one way or another, and it is a blessing to have had the opportunity to know them. I know how good I have it in this suite, and I am so grateful that it ended up this way.

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus” Philippians 4:19 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

