Well, it’s been 21 days since my last blog post. Clearly, this is not going quite as well as I had hoped, but I am still confident that I will someday get the hang of this blogging thing.

I missed those 21 days for a variety of reasons, not all of which I will get into, but I will say that a big part of the reasons was my migraines. I have chronic migraine, and it can be really hard to handle all the different things I am supposed to do, so I have to prioritize. As you can guess, this blog does not rate as highly as school, or school related activities.

Having a chronic illness changes a lot of things in your life, big and little. Since I’m in rather a good mood tonight, I don’t want to dwell on all the big things that are different because of my condition, so I’ll give a few example of small things.

I mostly can’t wear my hair up. I absolutely cannot wear a ponytail, and I miss ponytails like nobody’s business. I can get away with a bun if I don’t put it in a ponytail first, and I can do things with french braids, or scarves/headbands to get it out of my face. Still, those options (except a completely plain french braid) only work for a few hours before the tension caused by pulling my hair back adds too much to the migraine, and it has to come down. It can be inconvenient, and it is kind of disappointing too, that I can’t do whatever I want with my hair, but that even in this aspect of my life I have to be thinking of my health.

Another place where my migraines cause problems is in music. I am phono-sensitive, which means sensitive to noise. It doesn’t mean that all sound has become unbearable, but that certain sound can cause me pain. For me, it has nothing to so with the loudness or quietness, but with what I can only describe as the “sharpness” of the sound. Unfortunately, many of the songs and bands that I used to listen to all the time have a lot of “sharp” sounds in them, typically from the drums. I have stopped listening to these bands almost entirely. I miss the freedom to listen to all the music I wanted to.

I’m not writing this all down to make people feel bad for me, or to complain. I’ve always liked wearing my hair down more than up, and my absolute favorite genre of music is folk/alternative that contains very little drums, mostly acoustic sounds. Rather, I’m sharing this to try and help people see a little of what it is like to have a chronic illness. It can be hard sometimes to really understand something that invades every aspect of life if you have no reference or explanation. Hopefully, this was interesting, helpful, and informative. I want to share these things so that people can understand and have compassion for people, even if they can’t relate personally.

RECOMMENDATIONS

I’m adding a few recommendations to the end of each of my blog posts, so that even if I can’t think of anything to write, I can still post something.

Song- Apple Pie by Flannel Graph (beautiful song inspired by the prodigal son parable)

Book- Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry (one of my favorite books from the children’s section)

Article- More Than Mere Equality: Identity Politics, White Privilege, and Gospel Peace from The Gospel Coalition ( An excellent explanation of White Privilege, Systematic Racism, and Christian response to both) (The article is long, yes, but absolutely worth it, I cannot say that enough) (Here is the link to the even longer version if you would like- From 9marks)

“The Lord lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation” Psalm 18:46 ESV

 

Leave a Reply

