I took this picture of my dog at Christmas Break. We were packing the car to head to my Grandparents, and though we hadn’t left yet, she was already waiting for us to come home.IMG Indigo at the Door

You did that a lot, Indigo, wait for us. I know you didn’t like to be alone- wanted to be around your family. We teased you for it, and sometimes scolded you for it, but mostly we loved you for it. We loved you for being part of the family, and that family is different without you.

My earliest memory of you is when you were just a puppy. You had waited until we were out of the house for just a few minutes, then you climbed up on the table and ate all of the chocolate chip cookies we had just pulled out of the oven. I was equal parts worried about the chocolate you just ingested, and angry you ate all the cookies, and left none for me. From that moment on, you were always the same- a little worrying, a little annoying, entirely lovable. You were just a dog, and so much more.

It seems strange to me that you are gone now. You were a horrible listener for the most part (and I still can’t believe you ate off the fork that was in my hand that one time), but you followed my instructions at the very end. You helped me through high school, and you didn’t wait for me to come home from college before it was time. I told you that you weren’t allowed to die before I left for college because I had this absurd idea it would hurt less with all that distance, but I can tell you I was wrong.

It doesn’t seem right that I’ll be home in a few days, and you won’t. I don’t know how to comprehend a house with out my dog. There isn’t enough imagination in the world to figure out what a homecoming looks like without you greeting me so excitedly until you figure out I have no intention of giving you a treat.

At some point this summer Daddy will make popcorn and you won’t do your popcorn dance. One day I will be home for Christmas and I won’t have to fight you for the space closest to the fire. There will be no more laughs, no more snuggles, no more pictures on my phone to show to people- “look at my dog!”

You were the cutest puppy, the best dog, and a part of all my favorite memories. There wasn’t a better pet in the world for us. It isn’t the same for any of us now, and we will hold on to all our thoughts, all our pictures, and all our memories because we miss you.

Good Girl ❤

“And God made the beasts of the earth according to their kinds and the livestock according to their kinds, and everything that creeps on the ground according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.” Genesis 1:25 ESV

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Lament for Indigo

Leave a Reply

